The challenge part four

“Ok ! Let me get this straight you want to challenge a vulcan who has the eqivolent of multiple black belts in vulcan martial arts. A man who was moroned on a gasious planet with bairly enough oxygen and servived! “Adison said.
“I understand vulcan law premits a challenge for any reason including from a non vulcan. Tisek cannot refuse me! “Tim said.
“I am aware of vulcan laws and customs tim. Look if your ready to settle down,there are easier ways them challenging a vulcan ! Its a big universe ! There are plenty of electron in the universe!”she said.
“This is not a whim ! I did not wake up and decide to go pick a fight with a random groom! There is more to this!” Tim said. “Alright perhaps we should start from the beginning !” Addison said.
” i met sotril at the academy. A bunch of us were touring the plans of abraham in old qubec. I did not know most of the people on the trip. ”
” There was a battle hear?”sotril asked. Tim had no idea who she was. ” Yes! This area was controled by the french. Back then they usually did not engage in warfare at night. The french got very drunk. Thr british in long red over coats,don’t ask!,scalled the clifs and suprised everyone. This all but gurentied british dominence over most of north america. This ended french expansion in north america. It created a french province in an otherwise english nation ! ” he said.
” why would one be drinking and paryting in the middle of an unresolved conflict. It is ilogical!”sotril said. “I agree! To us it seams like a no braner. It is easier to coment hundreds of years later! “He said.
“You like history !”she asked . “Very much so!  Its fasinating. I an not as versed on vulcan history . I know a little hear and there.  “He said.
” I find a lot of humans clasify vulcan history as pree surek,post surek,human first contact,federation. ” She said. “I wish i could refute that but your probably right. I believe profesor gill is working on writing a vulcan historical primer for non vulcans. I am sure that his will be more informitive!”he said.
“Profesor gill is always very thorough with history . I am sure it wil be an excellent work! ” she said.
“I’m tim by the way! “He said. “Sotril! She said. “It is good to meat you!” He said.
“I considered it a chance encounter. It is a big campus. I never expected to see her again. We kept poping into eachother. Library ,sporting events, courtyard, we just kept running into eachorther. ” Tim said.
“May i speak to you?”she asked.” Of course! “He said. “I understand the sadie hawkins dance the women ask the man to be his date?” She asked. “It is a bit of a relic of a bi gone era. For some reason it has become part of academy tradition. ” He said.
” Will you be my date?”she asked . “Really ? Your really asking me. This is not some pratical joke! You were not put up to this by an uper classman?”he asked . “I am really asking you!”she said.
“She is always serious looking.at that moment i had never seen her so serious. I could tell by the look in her eyes that she ment it! I said yes. ”
“This one is a slow dence! Do you want to sit this one out?”he asked. “Are you tired? Do you need a break?” She asked. ” No!”he said. He took a hold of her. She was softer then he expected. He expected an non logical species to be cold,she was not. Bioligically they were not too different except that several organ like a heart is in a different place.
“I figured it was a one time event. I figured a long term relationship was out of the question. ”
“Then there was tisic. There was always tisek. Apearently they grew up together . They were neighbors. They frequented the same social circles. There was nothing between them. At least not as sotril saw it. Neither one was bethothed to anyone . Tisek hoped to presude her to mate with him. Had i not come into the picture ,they may have been maried long ago. She probably would have relented. I came into the picture ! I gues i upset his apple cart! ” he said.
”  our relationship was ill defined for a long time. At some point we decided we decided we were a couple !” She said.
” Look i don’t know how to ask this but are we a couple ? Is this a friendship,more? I have no idea!” He said. ” I am agreible to us being a couple as humans define it!”she said.
“Graduation i decided to pop the question. We had both been asigned to uss. Nimitz. I tried not to give her any hints. I wanted it to be a complete surprise. ”
He tried to find her. He was beraged with every one and his grandmother literily. He finally came to her.
” Sotril can i talk to you?”he asked. “Of course! ” she said. They went to a sicluded area if the courtyard. ” Sotril ? We are at a turning point in our relationship! “He said.
“Yes i have noticed that as well!”she said. “Sotril !”he was sweting. He was nervous. He took out a box with a ring. He got on his knes. He had not planed that part. “Sotril will you marry me?” He asked.
“Yes i will !”she said. “Really ? Your sure? “He asked . “Yes i am sure! ” She said. He put the ring on her finger.
“It was great! Best six mouths of my life! Then she had a crises of faith in surek. She began to explore emotion. When she came to her sences,she asociated her brief flutation with emotion with me.  I asured her nothing needed to change. I never expected her not to be logical . I fell in love with her! That included her logical side. I felt our diferences made us stronger. It made me a better officer. It forced me to look beyond the superficial or the serface. I can credet Vulcan philosphy with saving my neck on more then half a dozen ocasions. She just could not see it. One night i came home from my duty shift and all of her stuf was gone. She asked me for an anulment. She transferred to another ship. I never saw her  again until now! Look nothing has changed. Not for me! I thought i moved on. I figured she maried tisek years ago. I can’t just let this go!” He said.
“Have you tried to talk to her?” Addison asked. ” i tried. It did not go anywhere . Smal talk mostly ! “Tim said.
“Maybe you should take this as a sign to move on. You can find someone else!” Addison said.
“I am not some raw cadet ! This is not a crush. It is not going to go away!” He said.
“You don’t stand a chance,not against tisek! Not even with the help of a championship. It would be a fight to the death. There has not been a challenge like this in cencuries. It is not worth it. You are a decorated officer with a bright future ahead of you. He will kill you because cultural codes demand it. ” Addison said.
” would you be wiling to settle for someone orther then ryian? “‘He asked. ” good point! Are you sure. You will either have to take a life or have it taken from you. Are you really prepared for that?” She asked.
” Yes i am !” He said. “I will talk to the ambassador but i can’t promise anything ! She said.
Home of ambassador sarek.
“Fasinating! Do you think this request was made with sound mind and judgement?” The ambassador asked. ” Not totally but i think he has thought it though. He has been though advanced combat training . He has been in several difficult situations. I stil don’t see him defeating tisik in combat!”Addison said.
“Tisik is an hournerable man. I have a great respect for him. I have eaquil respect for sotril. I suspect lt. Mathews will go ahead with the challenge regardless of my help or lack. With my help he may have a chance. “Sarek said.
“I would feel better if you did train him!”she said. “Tell him to meat me in my court yars at 0500 sharp!” He said. “You got it!”she said.

Leave a Reply

