The challenge part five

Vulcan
“I am surprised you agreed to help a human challenge a mariege of a noble familly marying the son of a prefect. It is a logical union? It is not?”amanda said.
“On paper perhaps. Tisic is an hourerable man. It does seam to be a resonible union!” Sarek asked. “Then why help a human challenge it? “She asked.
“Well sotril is a dynamic person and tisic is a bit of a dulered! Even in a Vulcan mariege there has to be some glue that holds it together. I am not sure there is between those two!” Sarek declared. “Why sarek i think i am rubing off on you!”amanda said. “I don’t think so. I think i have come to a well resoned conclusion. I doubt surek himself would aprove of this union! “He said. “Surek would think of him as a dulered?” Amanda asked. “He might not use that terminology but yes i believe he would !” Sarek said. “Of course!”she said trying not to laugh.
Uss enterprise
Brefing room
“Thank you so much captain!”tim said. “Look tim! This was the easiest part. You are going to have to do a lot of work! The traning will be beyond any traning you have ever done!”Addison told him. “I know that Addison ! I am prepared well as prepared as i can be! ” he said.
“Well i wish you luck! I am rooting for you for all its worth! Some things are worth puting it all on the line for! “She said. “I really believe this is one of those events! “He told her. She believed that was true. She just hoped that this will suckeed.
She was concerned that this would get him killed but she was hopefull. Maybe he would bow out or tisic would bow out. There would be time for all that to short itself out later.
Tim went to sleep early.he had the computor wake him up at 03:30. He got right out of bed. He showered and then had cofee and a light breakfast.
He went to the transporter room. ” Chief your already on duty?” He asked. “I like to get an early start. I like to do some diegnostic test and things that are difficult to do during the day!”takigawa said. “I see! One to beam to the serface!”tim said.
“You sure about this?”tagigawa asked. “No! I feel i have to do this! Good idea or not!” He said. “I understand !”the operator said.he went to the pad. “Good luck! Energizing now!” He said.the chief activated the controls.the lt was beamed off the ship and on to the home of ambassador and amanda sarek.
  “Lt mathews?”sarek asked.”ambassador sarek!” Mathews said. “You are atempting to do something that at best is difficult,at worst imposible. You have little hope of servival,your only chance is to do exactly what i tell thee!”sarek said.
“I am prepared to do just that ambassador !” Tim told the ambassador.
“Tisik is a grand master of six disiplines. He has a black belt in several human martial arts as well. He is going though the early stages of pon far!” Sarek said.
” I was not aware of that!” Tim said. “You are aware of pon far?’sarek asked . “Sotril explaned to me!”he said.
He remembered them being at his perents home on earth. They were holding hands as they walked in sotril’s favorite spot of the property.
“Men go though pon far every seven years. They experience a rush of emotion. While men can conceve aside from pon far,they are super futil. Many chose to time wedings with pon far!” She said. “I see! Women don’t go though pon far?” He asked. “Not usually ! It can occur! “She said. “I see! “He said. “You might be in the clear!”she told him. “I gues this will be an adventure !” He said. “We Vulcans are non emotional but not boring!” She told him.
“Tisic filter wil be gone as will his self regulation. His impulse ,hus instinct will kick in. He will be brute force. He won’t hesitate to kill you ! He will make a Klingon look like a trible! ” sarek said.
“What do i do?”he said. “Follow me!”he instructed him. He folowed the ambassador. They went to a court yard.
He put a blind fold on him. “Thet say when a teren loses eye sight other sences quick in. I want you to focus. Listen. Get a sense of your seroundings! Know there is of this place. To defeat tisic you must find an advantage or create one! “He said.
Uss enterprise bridge
“Are we going to do a bridal shower for the commander?” Yeoman smith asked. ” I don’t think so. It is not the Vulcan thing. I am not sure how this is all going to play out! Andrea!”Addison asked. “What do you meen?” She asked. “Never mind !”Addison said. “Your not really on bored with this are you addy?”daner asked. “Its really not my place . Sotril is a big girl. She can make her own decisions!”addy said. “You have an opinion on it?” Liz asked. “Yea i do!”she said. “Care to share with the class?”kyile asked. “Not really !” She said.
Home of tired and voshan
“It has been far too long!” Sotril morther said. “I know. I have been buisy. Being on a deep space mission makes returning to ones homeworld problimetic. “She said.
“Are you doing alright?” Her farther said. “I am. My past dificulties were just that. I don’t know what happened. I have corected it!” She said.
“Sotril! You have never brought us shame. Quite the contary. You have always done well for the family !” The farther said. “I thank you for that! I know thou are syincere. I value the words and the syincerity behind it. “She said.
“Are you sure that marying tisic is the best “her morther asked. “It is a most logical pairing !”she declared. ” Is it?”her brother asked. “What do you mean?”sotril asked.
“There is a difference between logical and convenient !”her sister said. ” there is more to consider then philisophical simularities. Are you compatible ?”her morther asked. “I am a Vulcan ! I need not consider such things!” Sotril said.
“What of surek? He decided to mary a former mage alied with the tyrent zackel over one of his principle lt!” Her farther comented.
“You and tim had something ! “Her morther said. “Please this is an old debate!” Sotril said. “We believe that it was a mistake for the anulment!” Her farther said.
“You disagreed with it at the time! ” she said. “We were mistaken !” Her morther said.”have you heard from him?” Her sister asked. “He is on the enterprise. We have bearly spoken!” She said. “Does he know ?” Her morther asked. “He must by now!” Sotril said. “You have not spoken to him about this ?”her farther asked. “I did not feel the need!” She said.
She recaled an event from her past. She and tim were in the courtyard. “You ok? “Tim asked.”I’m cold! Your planet is too cold!”she said. He took off his jacket and put it on her. “You don’t have to do that!”She said.”its fine!”he said. ” You know your never getting this jacket back?”she said. “Yea i figured. Some things never change!”he said. She woundered what was tim doing right now.
Tim spent houers under a blind fold. He could not believe how his hearing intensified. He heard birds and cretures far away as if they were right next to him. At first he found being blind disoriented. Later he had gotten used to it. It became part of who he was.
“Ok now the difficult part! I am giving you a sword. It is from jeremy greyson!”he said. “The pacifist ?” He asked. “He was hardly a pacifist . He did believe that war was not always the answer. He believed that war should not be contiplated as a first resort. “Sarek said.
“I see! How did you come by sutch an artifact ?”tim asked.
“I maried a disendent of greyson!” He said. “Oh! That makes sense! “He said.
“I want you to fight me?” Sarek said. “Alright ! I asume you too have a sword?” Tim asked. “I would not assume anything.”he said.
Tim took his sword. He tried to wield it. Sarek came at him with his sword. He tried to predict where he thought sarek’s sword was and counter him.
Tim was doing better then he expected. He was definitely holding his own. He tried to focus. He had been able to counter sarek. Sarek took advetage of tim’s oversight and took out his sword.
“You are doing well?” Sarek said.”stil not enough to beat tisic?”tim said. “Take off your blind fold!”he told him. It felt weird at first. He had forgotten what it was like to see. He almost fainted. “Give your eyies a chance to ajust!”he said.
“Should i just walk away. Mayby i am not cut out for this! Tisic is a good man. Sotril and him must have something. ” Tim said.
“Tisic is safe. He is familer. Safe is not always corect. The ilusion of safty can cloud one’s judgement. Spontanaety does not have to eaquil danger. Tisic is a fine man. Is he corect for sotril? Is sotril thinking this though?” Sarek said.
“If i die,she may stil chose to mary tisic?”he said. “How important is this to you? It is all on the line? How far are you wiling to go? “Sarek asked. “I want to fight you again without the blind fold!”he said. “Very well!”sarek said.
Uss enterprise
Addison had a reception for sotril and tisic. Tim felt very out of place. “I would like to perpose a toast to sotril and tisic. May your weding be long and prosperous. The hunie moon will be short. I need my exo back!” Addison said.
Tim remembered a similar reception. “I can’t believe it. Tim and sotril are finally getting maried. I thought they were already maried. I figured they found some justice of the peace and just did not tell anyone !” His best man said.
Tim could not handle this any more. He leaned over to commander gioto. “I need some air!” Tim said. Tim got out and left the mess hall. The door closed.
He tried to make a qiet exit. He tried not to be noticed. He had been noticed. Sotril noticed. She tried not to think about it. She tried to cary on.
End of part five

Leave a Reply

