“Detox ” part five

“Medical log,Dr. Mark piper reporting.being a medical officer on a deep space mission is difficult at times. My job is to overse the health and wel being of the crew. Sometimes that means deeling with pathogen I have never even imagined. ”
“As I deal with this microbe,I feel that this is one of those times. While they say it is lonely at the top.it is defiantly lonely at the top of the medical field of the enterprise. ” piper said.
“The only way to save the female crew of the enterprise is to remove her memories of her relationship with her husband. There is no clear evidence that this will yield any result. ”
Detox chamber
“We are almost ready. “Dr. Mcbanga said “ok. “Addison said. She hugged ryian. “Ry! I wrote you some letters. Don’t read them now but when times get tough. Read um ok. Not matter what happens never forget this Addison !”she said.
“I won’t addy!” ryian said. “I love you ry!”she said. “I love you addy!”he said. They kissed.
Then they prepped her for surgery .they wheeled her into a room that they had turned into a surgery room.
Farris and Wesley saw Addison being wheeled into the magshift o.r.”they sent you Bob? I was hoping for Matt Decker?”she said.”I will try to keep your office in one peace!”Wesley said. “Gosh! I am worried!”she said. He laughed.
She was wheeled into the o.r. “alright! Jubulio I want you to monitor her brain and the microbe. Report any change!”McCoy said.”you got it Len!”mcbanga said.”alright let’s do this and God helps us!”piper said.
Addison began to fall asleep. She started to drift. The medical team started to access her memories.
She found self at Starfleet academy.she remembered  was a memory. She walked into a dorm room. She went inside.
She saw ryian.this was the day she met him. She rode him hard that day. Neither one liked the orther for quite a while.
“I have isolated the memory.”Dr. Piper said. “Lets hope this is not for naught!”McCoy said. He gave the order to eraise the memory.
The event went as it had before. Just as she remembered it. Then she saw hum start to vanish.”what’s going on? Intruder alert! ” Addison said. Then he was gone.
“Dr. This is odd! When you removed the memory,the microbes showed clear signs of agitation. “Mcbanga said. “Keep a close eye on it!”Mark said.
They then went to the next menory. “Sir! May I speak freely?”Ryan asked. “Procede!”addison said.”what is your problem with me? I work hard. I stic to business. I have gotten good feedback from faculty and other cadet commanders yet you will never let up!”ryian said.
“I don’t understand why you are hear. Your from privledge although most everyone in the federation are. I have had to earn everything I had. I resent you!”Addison said.
“Look we are eaquil in the eyes of our superiors. We have the same opportunity. You are in a position of leadership in the core of cadets. Why is not room for me to do the same ?”he asked.
“I won’t coddle anyone cadet. “She said.”that is not what I want sir. I want to be treated like any orther cadet. No better but no worse.”Ryian said.
She began to realize that this was a memory. She wondered how that Addison would feel about her future decisions. Would she be surprised or even outraged?  She had no idea.
Sudenly there was a large storm.the storm came at them.she yelled at Ryan. The cloud hit Ryan. It vanished. She yelled. Then she had no idea what had just occured.she had forgotten all about it.
“There it was again. “Mcbanga said “have the computer scan the event. See if the computer can find anything that might help fight it!”Dr. McCoy told him.he agreed.
Then another memory was displayed.”cadet Hendricks.congradulations on your completion of your first year.”Addison said.”thank you sir! I understand you gave me a favorable review ?”Ryan said.”you earned it cadet. I may have been harsh on you. I was sceptical of you but I may have musjudged you.”Addison said.”may have?”he asked.
She started to laugh. It was the first time she has ever laughed at him.he did not think he ever saw her smile. He wondered if she was capable of smiling.
Sudenly she saw the shock wave. She conjured up a . she fired on the. Schock wave.  It was to  avail. The phaser hit the wave but it had no impact. She forgot why she had fired it.
It was during his sophomore year.it was her junior year. She saw him at an unofficial game of capture the flag. There was Ryan. He snapped to attention. “Relax ry we are off duty!”Addison told her. “Of course lt!”Ryan said. “Ry! Call me daddy off duty!”she said. “Very well!”he said.
This time it was not a shock wave. It was like some kind of disintigation. She watched in horror as he vanished.then she forgot why he dissapered or that he had ever was there.
  The next memory Ryan tried to catch up with her.”addy will you be my date at the dance?”Ryan asked. “Realy I thought you hated me?”she asked. “I thought that about you! If this is improper I will withdraw it. “He said. “No i would love to!”she said. “Realy? That’s great!”Ryan said.
Somehow she knew what was coming next. She knew this memory would be destroyed just like the rest. Sure enough the wave took it out just like the orthers.
When she woke up. She was just like the others. She was under the effect of the microbes.
Dr. McCoy and piper looked over the data. After carefull examination they believe that they found the answer.
Enterprise
Confrence room.
“Commissioner I believe we have a counter agent. Your not going to like it. “Dr. Piper said.”what is it”Farris asked. “Alright! What is it ?”the official asked. “The microbe only affects body that are susceptible to suggestion. Those not involved in a romantic relationship. “Piper said.
“If we were to implant memories of romance we could flush out the creatures. ” Dr. McCoy said.
“Wait a minute! Any mind alteration is strictly forbidden under earth law,federation law and intergalactic treaties. “Faris said.
“Can’t we get a waver. This Is an extreme situation!” piper said.”this would be a bad precident. Once this pendoras box is opened it might never be closed. I’m sorry. You will have to come up with another answer. “Farris said.
Romulan vessel
Office of the commander .
“You want to attack the enterprise?”admiral asked. “They  a sitting duck! “She said . “this will be considered an act of war. “Terok said .”the destruction of the flagship of the federation would be a huge morale booster. Do not deny me this chance. “She said.
“I will not authorize it.  Will not stop you.  If  you  fail your on your own!”the admiral said.
End of part five
Notes
This is inspired by the movie “sunshine of a  spotless mind”

Leave a Reply

