Aftermath chapter two

Elba two.
The federation mentle heath  comision was governed by a council that consisted of representatives of the member world’s. The commisionors were mostly in the mental heath field.
The door opened, Addison entered along with her lawyer sarah,Liz and governor Corry.
They sat down at a table designed for the patients. It did resemble a defendants table at an American court. The commission tried to avoid it being a trial or even a parole hearing. The comparison could not be ignored
Addison looked around the room.  There were a few witness. Not the person she thought might be there. She sat down along with her representatives.
The Vulcan head Of the comision got ready to call the hearing to order. He hit a chime. “I nearby call this hearing to order. This hearing is to evaluate the request of Addison Jean mccomic to be released from the custody of the comision. ” setlik said.
“This comision was called at the request of miss mccomic. You are represented by council?” Spencer French asked. Sarah got up. “Lt. Commander sarah Chabot counsel for miss mccomic. 
“Commander you may present your petition ?'”the Vulcan chairman said. “Thank you Mr. Chairman. She got up. “Members of the commission. I nearby request the release of miss mccomic. Her mental collapse was due to influence of trans dimensional activity. I enter into evidence statements from doctor Mark piper senior surgeon of the starship enterprise and several concurrent reports from colleges of doctor piper. I also have reports from lt. Spock science officer of the enterprise and chief enginer halal attesting to the transdinensional. Activity. It Is our contention that the breakdown was caused by the said activity and th a she is fit to return to duty. ” sarah said.
“Your evidence is nearby entered into the record. “The chairman said.”Mr. Chairman I wish to call doctor Elizabeth dahner to testify. ” sarah said.
Doctor Elizabeth dahner sat down. She put her hand on a wound. “Elizabeth dahner,doctor of psyciatry. Curenrly member of staf Elba two. Star fleet commander assigned to starship enterprise. ” the computer said.
“Doctor dahner, you examined miss McCormick  before and after the incident involving the mass?”sarah asked. “I did Mam. “Liz said. “You atribbute the mentle breakthrough to the influx Of life forms from another dimension?” she asked. “Yes. Brain scans showed energy readings coinciding with the breakdown. With the dismentiling of the bracali experiment , her Braun scans returned to the readings taken at her last examination on the enterprise before her breakthrough. ” she said.
“Are you certain that the break down is connected to the mass?’sarah asked. “I have no doubt of that. A life form contacted her several times. “She said. “I submit those reports into evidence . “she said.
“I am finished with this witness.”sarah said. “Doctor your reports as a staf member are different that your testimony today.” an andorian commissionor asked. “Yes that is correct. I did not have the information I have now. My evaluation is inaccurate because I did not have pertinent information. ” Liz remarked.
“Your reports prior to her release are very troubling.”Spencer French said. “I realize that. I believe her mind was effected by the life forms. The evidence verifies that. “Liz said.
“Her last evaluation was not promising in fact you sais she might need at least a year more of inpatient care!”a telerite member said. “I was incorrect. ” Liz said.
“She has had break downs before she needed a special waiver to attend star fleet academy. “The Vulcan chair remarked. “Yes. But she has had a stellar carer in star fleet and attained command of the enterprise. She played a key role in the resolution of the mass crises. Captain Norris and commander Kirk has verified that. ” she said.”thank you doctor. You may step down. “The chairman said.
Startle craft Galileo.
In the cockpit, Dr. Carol Marcus scanned the space. She took extensive scans. She used everything she had.
“What is it Carol?”he asked. “Jim? The inert materials are poising space. I would compare it to alge. If we don’t do anything it will erode this space. In thirty years not even ships can servive. I  Don’t see how we can contain it. ” she said.
Enterprise
Conference room.
“This space is dying.if the area is not cleansed of the materials the area will be deadly to anythIng  Of  this universe. ” Dr. Marcus said.
  ” star fleet uses booms ,automated ships designed to clean plasma spills and other anprogenic natural disaster. The booms have been modified to deal with x particle. A fleet us on route.”Norris said.
“Can all of the particles be removed? From all reports there can be no remnants left?”the chancellor asked. “We don’t know but we will keep modyfing the bombs until we do “the Orion engineer said.
“Even with the entire fleet of booms working non stop conservative efforts it would take ten years to clean it up. “The chancellor said .
“This is not our final option chancellor. The booms are designed to buy us time. The best minds in the federation are working on solutions. ” Spock said.
“That is all fine and good but this is our empire at stake. The federation is relatively safe. “An advisor said. “We are committed to findings solution “Norris said.
“I suggest you come up with something soon. “The chancellor said.the transmission ended. “That sounded like a threat!”Smith said. “I believe it was.”Norris said.
“The chancellor is under anonymous pressure.  He was installed by hardliners. He came into office promising expansion. The mass threatened every aspect of the empire including economic and commercial interest. Nonm military cast play a smal role In Klingon politics but if there livelihood is threatened that cod change. “Terisha said.
“This is a threat. It may not totally a call to arms by the leader but a prediction. The chancellor first instinct is military but he may not be prone to conflict. “Jes said.
“This is a scientific and envioermentle issue.that is how we will solve it. Lets brain storm and come up with something. Science is the art Of making the impossible possible. Lets do it. ” the captain said.
The staf members at the conference table got up from the table. They started to disperse.
Dr. Carol Marcus had an idea but she was not sure if it was a good idea. “Jim do you have to get back to the Artemis?”she asked. “Not right away!”he said. “I have a possible solution to the mass crises. It is a doozy. I wanted to run it by you first”she said. “Am I going to not like it?”he asked. “It is very possible” she said. “Lets take a look if what you got!”he suggested.she agreed.
Qaurters of the captain
“I hope your not allergic or vegiterien. I did some research into diery customs bit your planet is similar to my one with different sub cultures. “Norris said.
“I am sure it will be fine!” kalera said. “So if your go into shock or are offended please don’t go to war with the federation “he asked.”no promises!” she said. They laughed. “I never heard a romylan laugh before !”he said. “Really? Rihansu comedy is legendary. We are silly wen not conquering planets. Sometimes we are silly as we conqur but any ways.”she said. “I had no idea. “Norris said.
“Lari I am afraid that the alience won’t hold. We seamed to be making strides . the chancellor is a pragmatist . I fear if he decides to go for a military solution the Romulans Will be forced to join you. We need to work  together to solve this. “He said. “I know that. I will do all I can to preserve the alience.”she promised. “I know. I gues I have gotten used to having you around. I would hate for You to not be around “he said “you  get rid of me that easily. ” she told him. “Good. ” Norris said.
Qurters  Jessup
The chime rang. “Come in !” Jessup Said .the door opened, it was terasha. “Hello”he said. “I have given thought to us. I wish to resume our marriage. “She said. “I stil love you. I can’t deny that.the fact is that we are literily from two different world’s. This alience is tenuous at best. There is no reason to believe that this will hold. ” he said.
“You stil don’t trust me do you?”she asked. ” you chose a corrupt leader over me ! How do I know you won’t do it again should mukerat Pesure a military solution. “He said. ” I won’t leave this time. I will request asylum in the federation. I am sure that I could teach anywhere. I am sure my skills could come in handy in any field. “She said. “You said that the last time. ” he said.
“Is there nothing left but bitterness in your heart ? “She asked. “Only a fool tries to rule a burning house. What was it sortrak who said that “never trust a double agent more then once. “He said. “I hope I can one day earn your trust . you know I would probably be crying right now but I don’t have tear ducts. “She said. She left. The door closed.
Elba two
Addison had changed from the yellow command officers dress to a white v neck scrub used by patients at the asylum. Addison had put her hair into a pony tail then taken it out and restyled it.
“You know you have styled and restyled it multiple times. ” Liz said.”I know. Its helps me relax. My adopted parents said I played with my hair when I arrived with them. I gues it is a kind of self soothing. “She said. “Are you nervous addy?”Liz asked. “A little. “Addison said. “The case is going well. .Liz’s said. “They have asked a lot of harsh questione. Some of the comisioners don’t seam convinced.”she said.
Sarah came in. “Dresing the part?”Sarah asked. ” the staf wanted me to ware the patients uniform. I did not want to argue. ” Addison said.
“You don’t look happy Sarah. ” Addison remarked. “There has been a last minute addition to those who wish to make a statement. ” she said. “Who is it?” Liz asked. “Ryian Harrington. ” Sarah said. ” oh no!”Addison said.
U.s.s enterprise
Qurters of Carol Marcus.
The two entered the quarters. She got a recorder and activated it. She called up a personal file. She showed it to Kirk.
He took the file and looked it over. “Project genises?”he asked. “It was a idea I had. I wanted to deal with the intergalactic problem of food shortege and other issues. I could not work out some quirks. I never showed this to anyone . ” she said.
“A device designed to reinvigorate a dead form creating a New matrix. ” Kirk said. “This could solve the problem of the post mass crises. The problem is that I don’t have a catylist. The most viable agency would be protomatter. “Carol said.
“Protonatter is unstable. It could make a bad situation worse. ” he said. “I know. If I present this to the task  force perhaps they could come up with something. “She said.
“Star fleet command might be reluctant to even sugest  this to the task force. The  partnership is a lose alience  . though we have strong supporters like kor and others the governments seam to be wavering. This could be weponized . “he said
“Look I know that scientist can be pawns of the military. We cannot have a brave new world if we refus to be brave .risk is the only way. The Klingons are dying. If the Klingons die chaos insues. We have to do something Jim .we are at a real risk of looosing it all . this is no ordinary emergentcy. ” Carol said.
” Carol this could start an arms race . a cold war a hot war. There has to be a better way. ” Kirk said. ” Jim there is not. This could be the answer. ” she said.
“Carol this is not the right choice. There is a. Better way. I bend the rules . I tend to rush in where angels fear to tread.we have to keep looking.”he said.
End of part two.

Leave a Reply

