Worms chapter three (4)

U.s.s enterprise
“Medical log, chief medical officer Mark piper reporting. After discovering a direlect vessel behind an asteroid field. Itapeared.originally it had appeared that the landing team were unaffected by the ship. We were mistaken. Correction I was mistaken.” the doctor said.
“Aperently some kind of worms had infected the landing party. I am reexaming the members of the landing party. ”
Sickbay.
“What’s going on?”Addison asked. “It seams that my exam on the landing party were incorrect. I found worms inside myself and nurse chapel! I am now going to test all of you as well.”piper said.
“What kind of worms?”Addison asked. “I don’t know yet. “The doctor said.
“Addison please get on the table. “Dr. Piper said. “Just relax captain!”Dr. Mcbanga said. “Who are you?”Liz asked. “This is one of my staf doctors. He came a bored at the aldeberen colony.”piper said.
“Did you say aldeberen colony?”she asked. “Yes why?”the New doctor said. “No reason. “Liz said.
“You have the worms!” piper said. “Mark you said I was ok. “Addison said. “I know addie.I thought you were. I don’t know what happened. “Dr. Piper said.
“I have been nursing Hannah. I could have infected Her. ” Addison said. “I will have her tested as well. “Dr. Piper said.
“Are they a threat to our health?”Addison asked. “I don’t know yet. “The senior doctor answered. “Are we contagious?”Addison asked. “I am not sure. “Mark said
“What do you know?” Addison said. “Look I am stil early in this investigation. The only way for me to figure this out is for me to do my job. I can hardly do that with you yelling at me. “Dr. Piper said.
“Of course . your right. Procede. “Addison said. She went over to a corner.Liz was next she was infected. All of the team tested positive for the worms.
Then the doctor tested Hannah. Addison held on to her. “She does not have the worms. It is possible that they cannot be detected at this  phase or because of het size. Right now she is negative. I am not ready to declare her worm free at this point. This is a good sign so far. “Piper said.
“Ok. Look Mark I’m sorry. My mama bear instincts kicked in. “Addison said. “I know. I will do everything I can. “He said.
“What now?” the security chief asked. “We need to find out if the rest of the crew not on the landing party is infected.  I want to check in with sotril. I am hoping to be able to scan the crew at once. “Dr. Piper said.
“Do it. ” Addison ordered. “For Now are we basically a plague ship?” the chief of security asked. “I am afraid so bary. We will have to send a warning single. “Addison ordered.
“I will get right on it “the chief engineering officer said. ” ok good. ” Addison said.
“I would like to run more test. ” Dr. Mcbanga said. “Very well. “Addison agreed.
Bridge
Dr. Piper explained the situation to the Vulcan first officer. “It s workable but it will take some time. Tim can you give me a hand?” She asked.
He came over to her. “Can you clear out that station ?”She asked.”sure babe. I mean sir. “He said. He Sat Down and cleared out the station. He got the station ready to be used for the experiment.
Dr. Piper and sotril then worked on creating the scanning device. The two tried to get the parameters for the scan.
“Alright it’s ready for the scan. “Sotril said. “Hear goes nothing. “Piper said. The science officer activated the scanners. “Orange will indicate infection. I have had the landing party tagged. I am having the computer filter them out. The computer will now show them as yellow. ” the science officer said.
“Acording to this only the landing party is infected. “Dr. Piper said. “Could these worms only be able to service on that ship?” Tim asked. “I have found no evidence that the worms are dying. It could be. ” Dr. Piper said
“We will need to keep testing in case there is a long incubation process. “Dr. Piper said. “Agreed. “The female first officer said.
Brefing room.
Seated were captain mccomic , commander sotril,Dr. Piper, chief enginer pitcarin,security chief giotto, helm officer dashale, navigator Herrington com officer Palmer,yeoman Smith and doctor dahner.
“All tests show the crew that were not part of the landing party are not infected by the worms. The computer will continue to be scanned periodically. ” the female Vulcan first officer said.
“Is the worms confined to the host bodies?” Addison asked. “So far. We are checking and rechecking. “Pitcarin said. “Is the worms perisistic?” Addison asked. “No . not so far. ” Dr. Piper said
“Alright. We will remane inside the asteroid field for now. That will be all.” Addison said.
She went over to the first officer. “Look I want from this point for you to attend all Keating involving me. If you feel that I am incapacitated,you have to take command your duty is to the ship. ” Addison instructed her. “I will sir. I will do what I have to. ” she said .
“Good. I hope it won’t be necessary. I fear it might be. ” Addison said. “It is a distinct possibility. ” the Vulcan said. “I fear it may. ” sotril said.
Bridge
“You wanted to see us?” Addison asked. “Yes I did. I have developed a very crude primer. It may be exact but I believe it is fairly accurate. I have the computer run the translation. ” Palmer reported.
“I found a message from the ship. I believe it is from the government of the sending ship. ” Palmer said.
“Play the message Audrey.” Addison ordered. “Right away Addison. ” she answered.
She played the transmission. On the screen was displayed an alien person. The alien looked human except with a ridge near the eyes. “If get this heed! If go to this ship. Do not return home ship. If return return. Worms unclean. Incuruble. Leave behind. ” the message ended.
“It seams that only the landing party is in danger. ” Palmer said. “How can that be? “Addison asked. “They went to a lot of trouble to try to get us to leave the infected behind “the chief said . “indeed They did. ” Addison said.
“This does not make sense. We are missing something. What I don’t know. ” Ryan said.
“I agree. ” Addison said. She paced around the room. Addison did not like any of this.
Lt. Palmer continued to check the logs from the ship. She reported to the captain on what she found. “Alright. The worms were accidently brought to the bendali home world from a near by world. The dutril.  The worms are benign to the dutril but cause discomfort to the bendali. The worms were brought to this ship to be marooned. The creatures cannot be seen outside a host. Like us they developed a way to detect and trap them. I suspect there probably was some kind of buoy but it may have been destroyed after all these years. ” Palmer said.
“This was a plague ship or sorts. ” Addison said. “It seams so. ” Palmer said. “Our curiosity got the best of us. ” Addison said.
The asteroid did rocked. The enterprise shock back and forth. “Report!”Addison ordered. “Captain I am detecting the use of spacial charges. ” Jr. Science officer David ported.
“Long range sensors detect a ship. The vessel is more advanced but it is bendali.”sotril reported. “Hail that ship. Quickly. ” Addison ordered. The com officer sent the message.
End of chapter three.

Leave a Reply

