The admiral’s banquet

” captains log, the enterprise has reentered federation space.  We are heading to star base 47. The base Will be performing diagnostics on ships system following our encounter with a ship infested with worms. While on the base key syistoms will be upgraded. I am authorising leave for the crew as well. ”
Qurters of Addison mcomic and Ryan Herrington.
Addison and Ryan were in bed. The baby was In a basonete near the bed.sarek there other child was in another room.
After the worm crises,both were very tired. Addison wanted to have some time to recover.  She felt like she was physically and mentally exhausted. She was looking forward to some time to unwind.
“For right now I am not the captain. I am just addie!” She said.Ryan chuckled. “Ok ! Just plane and simple addie.” Ryan said “well not plane and simple but I get what you mean. ” She said.
“Bridge to captain. “Lt. Palmer said. “I gues I am the captain again.”Addison said. She hit the com panel. “This is addison! Go ahead. ” Addison said. “Addison you have an incoming message  from admiral kandez at star base 47. ” Lt. Palmer said.
“Of course I do. Pipe it down hear.”Addison said. She put a robe over her pink nightie. The view screen was turned on. On the screen was the female admiral.
“Did I wake you?” the admiral asked.”no admiral, I was just resting. ” She said. ” I know you and your crew have been though  a lot. I am eager to hear all about your missions captain . ” the admiral said.
“I have much to tell. We have had a lot to tell. “She said. “I am sure you do. ” the admiral said.
“Are you calling just to catch up admiral?” the captain asked.”not quite Addison. Your arival at the base is quite fortuitous.” the admiral said. “Oh! Why is that?” Addison asked.
“Well sb 40 is going to be hosting this year’s admiral banquet . this is quite a serendupitous event for me. I just took command of this base a year ago. To host the banquet just as the enterprise returns to the federation. I would love for you and your first officer to be my guest of honor. You will be at the head table.”she said.
She thought to herself ,”great ! This sounds like so much fun. A group of admirals much of whom have hardly logged a single star in there entire carer not knowing about the frontier but eager to give there opinion on it. ”
“Well I don’t want to intrude on an event primarily for flag officers. I am a litle bit of a plebian. “She said.”non Sense. Your a bit if a celebratory. Jonathan archer in. Dress. ” she said.
Addison knew she was butering her up. She did enjoy the mentle image of the pioner of earth explorarion in drag. She tried not to laugh knowing that the admiral was serious.
“I don’t think I have the time!  Addison said. ” sure you do. The diagnostic is routine and chief pitcarin is quite capable of leading those efforts. It will be fun. “She said.
She began to see that She was not going to win this fight. She decided to relent .”very well admiral. I will atend along with commander sotril. ” excelent! Can’t wait to see you. ” the admiral said. ” you too. ” she said.
Murcifly the mesege ended. “Stop smiling ry or I will make you go. ” she told him. ” does sotril have a choice ?” he asked. “No way if I have to go. So does she” she said. “Is that not an abuse of power?” Ryan asked. “Probably!” she said.He laughed.
” I need to get sick or something.” she said. “It can’t be that bad-” Ryan declared. ” it us trust me. Boring speeches .admiral high giving each other. It is that bad. I have usually been able to avoid it. Thanks to those worms I can’t.maybe the nazaka or anipovnoids or asana will ster up some strife. ” the captain said. “Your wishing for an invasion?”he asked. “No! Just some saber ratiling!” she said.
” what is this really about ad? ” he asked. ” a lot of star fleet commanders stil feel I don’t deserve to ware a uniform let alone command a constitution class starship. ” she said.
” come on no one thinks that any more.you have more commendations then nogura,komack Wesley ,Decker and Fitzpatrick combined. You have gone where zefren Cochran could not even dream of. ” ry said.”maybe. I have made history. I hope to make more of it. I don’t want to justify my position . ” she said. “You should not have to. Addison you have the admiration of the entire crew. I know that for a fact. That is what matters. ” She said.
“I hope captain styles is not there or fenegin.  ” she said. ” they have nothing on you. They know it and so do you!” Ryan told her.
She still was not looking forward to it but how bad could it be?
End of prougue.
Notes
I am reluctant to reference anything not In the original series . I figure Sense the archer comment was in passing,why not. You could easily replace it with zefren Cochrane or someone else.
Captain styles is the same as the commanding officer of the excelsior in star fleet. Acording to guide books published by poker books says that the st three character has a different spelling then the character from balience of terror.
Finegon was the prankster cadet who taunted Kirk. He was seen in shore leave.I imagined he would have also have taunted Addison.
Nogura is the admiral referenced I. Star trek the motion picture. Decker commanded the constipation in doomsday michiney.admiral komack appeared in “a mock time” admiral Fitzpatrick in “trouble with tribles” and Commodore Wesley was seen in “the ultimate computer “

Leave a Reply

