The admiral banquet chapter two(3)

“Captians log,commander sotril and I have made it to the admirals banquet .I must admit to some apprehension. I have been decorated in multiple occasions by command, there are still some question the wisdom of my promotion. Some still do not see me as a full members of the captain’s club yet. ” she said in her log.
“Unbeknowst to me or my first officer,something was terribly wrong. Something that could threaten the federation.”
The two mingled. “Commander sotril !” Commodore Robert Wesley said. “It is agreeable to see you again ” the commander said.
“I don’t know if you are aware but the captain of the Ajax has been promoted to admiral. The first officer is on maternity leave and is not interested in command of a starship at this time. I think you would be a prime candidate for that post.”Wesley said.
“I am hornered but I am not interested. I have not been a first officer for that long. I am open to command Down the road but not at this time.I am content with my scientific duties.”she said.
“I understand your position on this. I think you would be a good fit for the Ajax. I hope you will reconsider.”Wesly said. “I do not believe I will comadore!” she said.
The captain saw admiral komack.”Addison it is good to see you. “He said.”you too sir! “Addison said. “I am glad you can make it. Your missions are already the studs of legend.”the admiral said. “I am pleased with our missions. I think I have the best crew In the fleet.they have all worked There hardest. We have made quite some headway. “Addison said.
“I have followed your misons with great interests . it seams your crew has gone where no one has gone before.” admiral komack said. “I learned from the best. ” Addison said. The admiral laughed.
“I hope so. ” the admiral said . “it was a pleasure serving with you. I hope the feeling is mutual. “Addison said. “It was. I assure you.” the admiral said. “I can’t wait to get back into space. ” Addison said. ” that’s my Addison. I was the same way. “The admiral said. “I remember. ” Addison said. He laughed.
Sotril noticed that admiral lakefield looked nervous. He seemed agitated.  The Vulcan knew him to be a very strong willed person. That was not today. She had no idea why.
Addison saw captain styles.”well Addison you made captain after all.”styles said.”You act surprised.I told you I would. ” Addison said. “You have not blown your ship up!” them captain said .”I had a few close calls.I always get the auto destruct and the replicator button mixed up!” Addison said. “You have not changed a bit. ” styles said. “You have done well yourself. “Addison said.
“I intend  to be the future of star fleet. I hoped to make history every day. ” styles said. She wanted to sarcastically say “good luck with that” but did not. Addison knew she did that on the enterprise.
“It is good to see you captain.”Addison said. “Captain “he said . she tried not to be offended by the fact that he did not say that it was good to see her. She felt like she did bot belong hear. She never felt that way on the enterprise .she just wanted to be back on the ship.
U.s.s enterprise
Enginering
Pitcarrin was not having fun. He hated that star base operations insisted on looking over his work. He hated that Manny star base felt like if they did not come up with the idea it does not count. Why did they not think that someone else could have a good idea. He tried to stay calm.
“How is it going?” gioto asked.”well Bary it is a good thing that humans don’t suffer from high blood pressure any more. ” the chief said. “That bad ha?” the security chief said. “Its like they think I am a nincompoop. I am s graduate of star fleet academy engineering school where I graduated second in my class. I have several papers published by the daystrom institute. I even had a paper published by the Vulcan science academy. I am no dummy. ” pitcarin said.
“Your in there house!” the chief said.”all we need is a diagnostic. I don’t need a ten point inspection. ” the chief said.
The door opened. The head of star base operations. ” uh chief . we would like to perform some upgrades to some syistoms. ” commander lary marvic said. “Upgrades.our ship is sate of the art. ” pitcarin said ,”I know I helped designed. It. I like what you have done . these are minor. ” marvic said. “There was no discussion of upgrades. Your assignment was simply to check for any contamination due to the worms or any thing else. ” the security chief asked .”I know. Like I said they are minor alterations. ” lary said. “Any upgrades need to be approved by myself and the captain. ” pitcarin said.
“Look I know star fleet protocols. I want to make some changes to the com relay replicator and a few other system’s. That’s all. ” lary said. “I have to look it over first. ” pitcarin said. “Fine I will have it sent over. ” lary said. The man left.
“The base never said anything about upgrades. “The chief said. “It is a bit odd. Marvic is known for being eccentric. ” giiotto said. “For now there will be no upgrades. ” the chief said. “Fine with me pit. ” the security chief said.
  Rec room.
Lt. Palmer was relaxing. “Do I want to know?”yeoman Smith asked. ” I. Reading Vulcan romance Novak. The noble ethic by tospnek. “Palmer said . “I tried to read “edge of galordencor. It was very dry. All of his novals are the same.the protagonist calculate the most logical mate and courts them. Usualy by giving logical reasons why the female should bond with him then she does” Smith said. “I really enjoy them. ” Palmer said. “To each his own I suppose. “The yeoman said. They laughed.
“What do you do in your spare time yeoman?”Palmer asked .”spare time? What’s that?”  the yeoman asked. She laughed. ” I work out in the gym on occasions. That’s about it. ” the yeoman said .
Star base 47
Dr. Mark piper walked though the pylons of the station. He did not quite the enthusiasm he did in his younger days. The station was massive. 
Dr piper went to a restaurant called galactic core. ” Mark ! ” a younger lady said. “Lizzy hello. I did not realize that you were on the station. I figured you were back on earth. ” he said.
“I was for a while. I am ready for a new challenge. ” she said. She was in a wheel chair. ” I am not surprised. ” Dr .piper said. ” It is good to be out in space even if it on a Star base. “Lizy said.
“You could always come back to star fleet. ” Dr. Piper said. “I would mostlikly be behind a desk. ” she said. ” maybe not. You were quite an asset to the fleet. ” Dr. Piper said.  ” let me show you around.” she said.”what’s good hear?” he asked.
U.s.s enterprise
Sickbay
A group of tech brought in crates. “What’s going on ?” Christine asked.” they say they are medical supplies. ” nurse Pendleton said. ” we did not request any such supplies. ” Christine remarked.
She went over go a teach “we never requested these supplies crewman. “Christine remarked. “I am flowering orders mam. ” the crewman said. “Who gave this order?” Christine asked. ” station medical officer Dr. Philip broyce. ” crewman darnelle said.
Office of c.m.o
“The base sent over medical supplies. The supplies are mundane. Nothing urgent. ” Christine said. “Other ship’s have gotten similar supplies. It is odd. Have you inventoried them ?” mcbanga asked. “We are still in the process. ” Christine said. ” there have been weird stories of upgrades and supplies. ” chapel said. “I am going to look into it. ” the acting c.m.o said.
Star base 47
Addison walked though the dining room. She realized there was something on her back . “really captain finegin are you two?” Addison said. “I thought maybe you were feeling nistslgic for the academy. ” finegin said. “Because I love reminiscing about crying myself to sleep so anything that could go wrong did. ” she said.
” it is funny !” he said. “Kick me signs went out of fashion before humanity first warp test. ” Addison said. ” not for me.” finegin said. “How did you get to be as starship captain again?” Addison asked. “I have not a clue .” finegin said ” I figured. ” she said.
Admiral lakefield went over to Addison. “Admiral lakefield. ” Addison said. “You have not had anything to drink or eat yet have you?” he asked. “No I have not. ” Addison said .”don’t eat or drunk anything hear. Your not safe. Neither is your first officer.although she has a stronger metabolism. Please don’t drink or eat anything ” the admiral pleaded.
“What is going on sir?” Addison said. ” you are not safe. ” he said . admiral kandez went over to admiral lakefield. “Is everything ok hear?” the station commander asked.Addison smiled. “Of course !” Addison said.
The admiral had a reputation for being an odd duck. He was a scientist. He made it to th admiralty after serving as science officer of deep exploration missions. He even commanded a science ship. Addison was concerned . maybe it was nothing. Addison never took anything for granted. She would be in gourd.
End of chapter two.

Leave a Reply

