Admirals banquet chapter three (4)

“Captain’s log,commander sotril and I are attending the admiral’s banquet at star base 47. While it seemed to be going well enough, something appears to be off. Admiral lakefield ,a man who is usually even kealed appears to Be agitated. For some unknown reason,he has warned me not to drink or eat anything.I have no idea why. ”
” on bored the enterprise,a peturn is developing. A peturn of Odd behavior. The dots indicate something. Something out of the ordinary. So far no one is sure what the sites connect to. ” Addison said in her log.
Star base 47
Addison went over to her first officer. “Did you bring your tri corder? “Addison asked. “Negitive!” the female Vulcan said. ” “how can a science officer not bring a tri corder?” Addison asked. “This is an off duty event. “Sotril responded. “A science officer is never off duty. There is always something New to uncover. ” Addison said. “I was unaware of such directive!”the Vulcan said. “Your slipping tivora!”Addison said. ” are you trying to goad me Addison?”she asked .”I would never!” she said.”I find that statement a bit dubious but sense you are my commanding officer I will let it go. ” she told her.
“Forunently I do have a data device on me!” sotril said. ” why did you bring a device with you?” the Vulcan asked. ” I thought I might get bored.  I figured I could sneak In a game of surek’s mystical garden. ” addison said. ” I should have known!” sotril said. “Yes you should!” Addison said.
“Admiral lakefield warned me not to eat any of the food or drink. I want to scan the food. No eating or drinking until we can determine if it is safe. “She ordered.
” do you think that we are I. Danger?” she said. “I don’t know!” Addison said. “The admiral could be simply doing what humans refer to as ‘yanking your proverbial chain ‘ ” she said.
“Its possible. I can’t take chances. We have been out on the rim for a while. This is a frontier post. Neither of us can take any chances. ” Addison said.
“Understood !” she said. “We need to scan the food !”Addison said. ” agreed . we do need to be discreet. ” sotril said. “Are you saying I’m not discreet?” Addison said. “Just trying to offer helpfull advice !” she said.
They moved on. “Oh by the way I have beaten surek mystical garden twice. I can help you. ” she said. “You beat it twice. I am trapped in the forge!” sotril said.
U s.s enterprise
Bridge .
“Is it hard being married to sotril?” Ryan asked.” sometimes. She is stoic all the time. She has never shown emotion.  Never. ” Tim Mathews said.
“Addison is usually very emotional. She can Be stoic at Times. “Ryan said . ” I have seen both sides of her. ” Tim said. “I think we all have. ” Ryan said.
“Its weird who knew someone who expresses no emotion could garner so much in me! ” Tim said.
“Sir? ” lt. Angella Martine the communications officer pro tempt said. “Report!” lt. Dashale ordered.”sir we are receiving a message from star fleet command. I can’t access it. ” she said.
“It is from earth?” Ryan asked. “It appears to be. I can’t confirm it. It seams as though someone is jamming it some how. ” Angela said.
“What kind of message is it?” dashale asked. “It’s gone. It has stoped transmitting. ” she said. “This is quite unusual. ” Tim Said.
“Sir! ” new message coming in from star fleet command.they claim that it was a test of an emergency transnison syistom. The first message used a series of carriers. This one was a direct line from sb one to hear. ” she said.
“Can you confirm that the seconds measege is earth?” dasale said. “It appears to be legitimate sir. Going only on an unscientific opinion I don’t buy the second message. ” Angela said.
“Get Palmer up hear. I want the two of you to go over it with a fine tooth comb. ” dasale ordered. “You got it!” Martine said.
Star base 47
“Did you get a scan ?”Addison asked.”the food is contaminated as you expected. It is a bactetia found on Markham four. The bacteria caused massive brain defects before a vaccine was created two hundred years ago. ” sotril said.”the food is poisoned.” Addison said. ” the drink as well. The drink are a kind if nurotoxen. ” she said. ” are the admirals involved or are the victims or both ?”Addison said. “The food and drink seam to be designed not to kill but to cause damage to control and mottor functions . ” Addison said. “That what I suspected. ” Addison said.
They heard a noise. Addison and the exo ran over to the sound. Admiral lakefield was dead. ” what happened?” Addison asked. “He jumped off the rail! ” admiral Nordstrom said ” he had been depressed for a while now.” admiral kandez said.
U.s.s enterprise
Bridge
” the second messege is a fake. It was belevible unless you know what to look for. “Palmer said. ” I agree . ” Tim said. “The first message was radically deconstructed. Whoever erased it was scared of death of it being revealed. ” the security chief said.”we are In danger. ” Ryan said. . “we have been sitting on upgrades. I think we should scrap any upgrades .” the chief engineer said.”agreed!” dasale said.
“Sir! Receving a distress call from u.s.s Augustine .they say they have engine failure ” lt. Palmer said. “Get me Addison!” dasale said .”sir! Station ops reports that they cannot disturb anyone inside the banquets. Orders of station commander kandez.” Palmer said.”request permison to depart. ” dasale ordered. “They want clarification. ” Palmer said. He took the com peace . ” this is acting captain dasale. We need to answer a distress call. Do I need to cite star fleet critical for ship in distress. ” dasale said. “Permison  is granted. ” Palmer said.
“Clear all mornings . before they change there mind. ” dasale said. “Mornings clear Vincent!” Ryan Herrington reported. “Take us out!” the commander reported. The enterprise left the station.
“We are clear!” Ryan reported.” set course for the augustine!” the acting captain ordered.
Star base 47
Dr. Piper examined the late admiral. ” death appears to be injuries suffered from the fall. ” Dr. Piper said. “He has been troubled lately. He has been under a lot of strees. We all have. ” admiral Nordstrom said
“What was the nature of that stress? ” Addison asked. “Can we talk In private?” the admiral said.the two went over to a corner. “Addison Sense you have been gone ,star fleet has decided to target key sectors.  Sectors that have had little attention. The now late admiral was assigned to the Oberon sector. ” Nordstrom said.
“The Oberon sector was deemed Insignificant. “Addison said. “We are evaluating that. A setilitw uncovered information that suggest that several crucial funds are there. We are keeping it low key for now. We are going to be deploying our fleet. It is stressful. The admiral could not take it I suppose. Perhaps we gave him too difficult of a task. ” Nordstrom said.”I  see!” Addison said.
Addison had no idea what was going on . they had lakefield killed.why? Addison had no idea if this was insanity or alien takeover. There was lot of odd behavior.  Addison did not like it.
U.s.s enterprise
Bridge
“Sir there is nothing wrong with the Augustine. ” Tim Mathews reported. ” sir the ships captain and first officer wish to come on borred. ” lt. Palmer said . “have Mr. Kyile lock on to them. Chief you outrank me you ok with me continuing as c.o ?”dasale said. “Your doing good. I see no reason to upset the Apple cart. ” the chief said. ” ok. Tim  have the bridge. Chief your with me. ” dasale said.
Transporter room
” what is going on?” dasale asked. “I wish Addison was hear. I had to get you away .” captain rex Larson said . “why?” the security officer asked. “Something is wrong with the star base. ” commander Emily Nicollet said. ” what exactly ?” dasale asked. ” it is an ambush.the base is trying to lure key starships hear. There is no admiral banquet planed to be held this week. ” Larson said. “For what reason ?” dasale said. “Your gues is as good as Myne lt. It could be a prelude to invasion or some kind of attack. ” Nicollet
End of chapter three
Notes
Angela was a recurring character seen in multiple episodes of  original series.  Her fiencae was killed in. Romulan attack.balience  of terror.  She was seen in shore leave and turnabout intruder. In shore leave the script called her Mary teeler . someone remembered  that she played Martine in balence of terror so she was called Angela. In turnabout intruder she was called alecia.
I tried to model the interaction between Addison and sotril after Kirk and Spock.

Leave a Reply

