The jouney part three

Planet vulcan 

“Spock has excelled beyound what anyone could have imagined. “Amanda said. “Despite your hyperbole you are correct my wife.spock is bringing honor to his genetation. “Sarek said. “I was certain he would. “Amanda said.

“I will admit i had my concerns. It apears that i was incorrect.  “Sarek said. “I beleved Spock would. Yes i was being enotional. I believe in him. “She said. 

Sarek later spoke to spock.”the vulcan science acedemy is very carefull about who they alow in. This is a great hornor. “Sarek said.”yes it is. “Spock said.

Spock waw afraid to tell him the truth.  He beleved this was the best decision.  It might destroy the credibility he worked so hard to build all those years. 

“Farther i cannot go to the vulcan science adememy?”spock asked.”why?no vulcan has ever refused an appointment to the science acedemy.  It is considered a great privilege. “Sarek said.

“I have to decline father.  I believe my skills are best geared to something orther then the science acedemy.  I believe my skills  are best suited to join star fleet.”spock said. 

“There are few vulcans in star fleet.vulcans have saught to serve the federation in capacities other then star fleet. Star fleet is essentially  of by and for humans.”sarek said.

“I am aware of that.  I want to change that. The science acedemy deals with theoretical science. I wish to engage in more aplied science. Star fleet has dispoven long held beliefs and suposistions. Star fleet has advanced scientific understanding. “Spock said.

“Scientific reserch is an after thought. The science divisons play a secondary role to command officers.the captains are usualy what humans call grand standing. Most scientific advances were incidential. At the science acedemy you can devote yourself to science.”Sarek said.

“It would be from a distence. “Spock said. “To have to be at the forefront is human thinking. It is not logical. “Sarek said. “Vulcans do a diservice by not going into star fleet. It is not logical to cede an inportent component of the federation to another member world. Vulcan should be a vital part of the star fleet. “He said. 

“I do not agree. I am not soportive of this decison. I believe it to be based on faulty resoning. “Sarek said. “I had concluded that that would be your response. “Spock said.

“You have made your decision then? You will not retract it?”sarek asked. “No i will not revaluate it farther. “Spock told him.”i see. “His father said.

Later

“Farther sees this as a betrayl of him?”spock remarked. “I think he knows you are making the corect decison.  He would prefer that you would do things his way. “Amanda said. 

“I believe i can contribute to the universe more in star fleet.  I do not know if no man can sumon the future. History is made by smal steps. I want to make those steps.there is much we do not understand. I would like to atempt to broden our understanding.  “Spock said. “Sarek will understand in time !”Amanda told him. “I syincerly hope that he does.”spock told him.acedemy

Earth

“I don’t have the grades for star fleet acedemy “addison said. “Captain malory think that you only have to get your grades up in a couple clases. He thinks your the kind of cadet they want. ” syilvia mccomic said. 

“I can’t do it. Not really.  I am not officer material and everyone knows it “addison said.”thats not true addison.  You have a gift . i know it and captain malory knows it. The admison conite will know it ” Edward said.

Asteroid field.

“We are holding posistion.”Spock said. “Will they folow us in or wait us out?” she asked. “They could wait and then get impatcient and come in. “Spock said. “I considered that.  I have always believed that you dont have to solve every problem all at once.  Baby steps. “She said. 

“I agreee. Always look at the big picture. ” spock said. “Remind me to never play chess with you.”addison told him. “Some humans have described it as iretating. ” spock said.”why does that not. Suprise me?”she asked.

“How are you feeling?” spock asked. “I am fine. I have had some small boats of morninh sickness.it has mostly abated. “She said.

“Was the mental health commission concerned about your pregnancy and ability to serve as executive officer of the enterprise? “He asked.

“They were. They trust dr. Piper and doctor dahner. I agreed to bi weekly evaluation by dr. Piper.do you think i am cut out for this?”addison asked.

“Yes you are. You will command a starship again. You might even make admiral.”spock said.”i hope not. I intend to make captain and stay there.  “She said.”i could see that. “Spock said. 

“I hope i can command again.  “She said. “I am confident that you will. ” what about you? Are you interested in commanding a starship?”she asked.

“I am open to it. I am content with my scientific duties. Were the opotunity to present itself,i would consider it. I do not what is the human expreson crave it. I am open to command. “Spock said.

“Captain spock has a nice ring to it.”she said. His eye brow was slighly raised. “Perhaps!” he answered.  

“If i ever became captain of a starship i would cobsider you for executive officer.  “She said.”it would be an honor to serve under you.  “Spock said.”very good.”she said.

“I am suprised you and my farther seam to have a report. I assumed you named your son after him.”Spock said. 

“I did. Your farther helped deliver sarek. I was transporting him to star base 12. An young orion who wanted to prove he could play with the big boys tried to kidnap sarek in federation space to score points within the syndicate. During a battle i went into labor. I saved his life he saved myine and my son. Do you resent me spock for it?”she asked.

“No i do not. It is difficult.  I am not jelous but i supose i could be.”spock said. “I understand.  I never intended to have the relationship with your farther you wissed to have. I think the world of the ambassador.  I have a different view of him. “She said.

“I would prefer yout view of him. I would like to know my farther in the way you do. “Spock said.  “Give it time. Perhaps you will. Dont give up on him.things change.  How you and him are now is not how it will always be. “She said. “I hope that you are correct. “Spock said. “Dont let the time passby. Dont alow the gulf to get wider.”she admonished him.”i will consider it.”he said. 

The ship was strcuck. “Impact form spacial charges.”spock reported. “I gues they got tired of waiting. “She said. “It would apear so. “Spock said in response. 

“My gues is that they wont stop. This is a shartle not a starship. “She said. “I agree commander. “Spock responded. “What we fly into the egress when another cherge is coninf at us. Use the event to cetipault us in the oposite direction.”she said.”risky but it could work.”spock said.

“Is it worth the risk?”she asked. “I believe so in this casr addison.”spock said. ” a vulcan that sounds like a ringing endorsement. “She said. 

The shartle waited.  When they felt a charge, the shartle flew at the wake. The ship was pushed back. The ctaft fell backward. 

Addison and spock were able to stop the ship. The ship was clear of the asteroid field. The craft went to an all stop. 

“We are now at all stop.”spock said.”hold posistion. “She ordered. Spock did so. “Helm answering all stop.”spock reported. 

“I am detecting a direilect vessel. It is adrift. I believe  It is a relic form long ago. The ship is opetational. We coukd use it to hide out from our friends.”she said. “It is a logical conclusion.”spock said.

“I never thought any one would call one od my ideas logical espcially a vulcan. “She said.”you fear that people dont accept you?”he remarked. “I lived in space with my perents . they were a bit excentric. Then my perents died.  I never quite fit in on earth. I dont really ft in any where have. Women with no world.”she said. “I can understand that. I have never quite fit in on vulcan or on earth. You make the best if it i supose.”he said. 

The shartle neared the ship. The shartle went into the hanger deck of the unknown vessel. The ship was inside. 

End of part four. 

Leave a comment